@Sirexkat / Librarians Matter – time travel questions #blogjune day 28

I did have a different question for today but have decided to jump on board Sirexkat’s time travel questions since it is the 28th day of #blogjune, we’re nearly at the end, and what better way to celebrate this wonderful month together – posting about the same topic on the same day!

Question 1: If you could go back and tell your 20 year old self one thing that was going to happen to you between then and today, what would that be?

Hmmmmm…..that’s a really hard one.  I’d like to come up with something beautiful and profound and life changing but, to be honest, I really don’t think knowing the bad stuff I might have to deal with later in life, when I was 20 years old, with my whole (bright) future ahead of me, would actually help me.  I think it would terrify me, make me worry about things I cannot change, and would just make the years in-between not so much fun……(and believe me those years were FUN!!!!!).  So no, I wouldn’t go back and prepare myself for the not so nice things in my future ruining my alcohol-fuelled partying carefree and wild years, I would instead tell myself a couple of idiotic financial decisions my husband and I made, and keep myself from making them again!!  For starters, keep my first house, that although I think the market is as high as it can go, I am wrong.  Wait another year or two or three and then sell it.  And secondly, don’t be an absolute fool and put the proceeds from the sale of our second house straight into the mortgage of the third……do not, I repeat….DO NOT think you can keep it in your savings account untouched for a rainy day.  Idiot.  How different my life would now be if I knew those two things today!!!

Question 2: In 20 years time (presuming the world gets better, not worse) what do you think will be the biggest technological difference between your life now and your life then?

For the world – I hope it’s accountability.  I hope that happens much sooner than 20 years, but I really hope technology gets to a point (similar to Sirexkat’s answer) where people are accountable for their online presence.  Quite like Dave Egger’s idea in The Circle but not to the same extent!!  No more trolling, or cyber-bullying as you only have one registered and accountable account or ‘you’.  I think it would really impact crime and people’s general behaviour.  If you have to be accountable for your actions, because you have to be ‘you’ and it’s known that it’s ‘you’, even when your not face to face or in the same country as who you are communicating with, then it becomes much harder to not be nice, or polite or just a decent human being.

For me personally (because I’m already the same online as I am in real life), I really really really really hope the biggest technological difference between my life now and my life then is the ability to ‘beam me up Scotty’ so I no longer have to travel for hours to get somewhere!!!  I’ve wished this for about twenty years, so I don’t see it happening in the next twenty, but jeez it’s my dream to never have to hop in a cramped plane, or be stuck in traffic, or have to drive for a million hours, EVER AGAIN – instantaneously being transported to where I want/need to be – could anything even compare to that beautiful future?!?!?  Look, honestly, I’d probably be happy with a Harry Potter style Floo network, although I’d probably still suffer from motion sickness and that’s not exactly instant – but I’d make do!

Jade Bryan

One thought on “@Sirexkat / Librarians Matter – time travel questions #blogjune day 28

Leave a Reply

